top of page

MC2 Award

KAMPiNA MC2 research award was named after the late Dr. Myung Chun Choi and was initiated in 2011 to honor his contribution and efforts toward the establishment of the association of Korean medical physicists in North America and pioneering work in Medical Physics.


Dr. Myung Chun Choi's Education and Employment History:


  • University of Virginia, Ph.D. in Biomedical Engineering (1985)

  • University of Wisconsin, M.S. in Medical Physics (1976)

  • University of Kansas, M.S. in Radiation Biophysics (1969)

  • Inha Institute of Technology, B.S. in Nuclear Engineering (1964)


  • Korean Army (ROKA), Field Artillery (1961-1962)


  • Independent Consulting physicist (1998-2006)

  • Walter Reed Army Medical Center, Chief Radiation Physicist & Associate Professor (1991-1998)

  • Virginia Commonwealth University, Assistant Professor (1985-1991)

  • Fresno Community Hospital, Radiation Physicist (1985)

  • Univ. of Virginia, Radiological Physicist (1979-1984)

  • Washington Univ., Clinical Physicist (1976-1979)

  • Univ. of Wisconsin, Project/Research Assistant (1974-1976)

  • Univ. of Michigan, Instructor (1971-1974)

  • Argonne National Laboratory, Resident Associate (1970)

  • Wayne State Univ., Health Physicist (1969-1971)

  • Univ. of Kansas, Graduate Assistant (1967-1969)

MC2 Awardees

MC2 Award 2011 (MC2 award started in 2011)

  • Best Abstract: Justin C. Park (UCSD) - Fast, iterative, low-dose, cone-beam computed tomography reconstruction using a gradient projection algorithm

  • Best Paper: Young Ho Seo (UCSF) - Lymphatic drainage mapping of prostate using filtered 99mTc-sulfur nanocolloid and SPECT/CT


MC2 Award 2012

  • Best Abstract: Jongmin Cho (MD Anderson) - Pilot study of obtaining elemental tissue composition of proton therapy patients using positron emission tomography

  • Best Paper: Chul Hee Min (MGH) - Development of array-type prompt gamma measurement system for in vivo range verification in proton therapy


MC2 Award 2013

  • Best Abstract: Jongmin Cho (MD Anderson) - Proton beam range verification using proton activated fiducials and off-site PET

  • Best Paper: Inwhan Yeo (Loma Linda) - Feasibility study on inverse four-dimensional dose reconstruction using the continuous dose-image of EPID


MC2 Award 2014

  • Best Abstract: Peter Park (Emory) - A Novel MRI Based CT Artifact Correction Method for Improving Proton Range Calculation in the Presence of Severe CT Artifacts

  • Best Paper: Tae Ho Kim (VCU) - Dynamic keyhole: A novel method to improve MR images in the presence of respiratory motion for real-time MRI


MC2 Award 2015

  • Best Science Paper: Youngho Seo (UCSF) – Multipinhole collimator with 20 apertures for a brain SPECT application

  • Best Clinical Paper: Peter C. Park (Emory Univ.) – MRI-Based Computed Tomography Metal Artifact Correction Method for Improving Proton Range Calcuation Accuracy

  • Best Science Abstract: Jongmin Cho (MD Anderson) – PET-detectable bimetallic (Zn@Au) nanoparticles for radiotherapy and molecular imaging applications

  • Best Clinical Abstract: Jihyung Yoon (East Carolina Univ.) – Four-dimensional dose reconstruction through retrospective phase determination using cine images of electronic portal imaging device


MC2 Award 2016

  • Best Scientific Paper: Jongmin Cho (Oklahoma Univ.) - Feasibility of hydrogel fiducial markers for in vivo proton range verification using PET

  • Best Clinical Paper: Danny Lee (VCU) - Audiovisual biofeedback improves cine-magnetic resonance imaging measured lung tumor motion consistency

  • Best Scientific Pape: Seyoun Park (Duke) - Predicting radiation-induced xerostomia by dosimetrically accounting for daily setup uncertainty during head and neck IMRT


MC2 Award 2017

  • Best Paper: James J. Jung (UF) - Comparison between proton boron fusion therapy (PBFT) and boron neutron capture therapy (BNCT): a Monte Carlo study

  • Best Paper: Eunsin Lee (Univ. of Cincinnati) - Functional lung avoidance and response- adaptive escalation (FLARE) RT: multimodality plan dosimetry of a precision radiation oncology strategy

  • Best Abstract: Sang Ho Lee (MSKCC) - Correlation between FDG-PET SUV max and DCE-MRI microvascular parameters in non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC)


MC2 Award 2018

  • Best Paper in KAMPiNA: Uikyu Je (UT Southwestern) - Indirect measurement of high grid strip densities over Nyquist sampling rate based on the moiré pattern analysis for quality assurance in grid manufacturing

  • Best Paper in KSMP: Hyekyun Chung (Asan Medical) - Reconstruction of implanted marker trajectories from cone-beam CT projection using interdimensional correlation model

  • Best Poster in KAMPiNA: Hpsang Jin (Univ. of Oklahoma) - Enhanced tumor cell control by boron in proton beam therapy


MC2 Award 2019

  • Best Paper in KAMPiNA: Yeon Soo Yeom (NCI) - Posture-dependent dose coefficients of mesh-type ICRP reference computational phantoms for photon external exposures

  • Best Paper in KSMP: Donghoon Lee (Yonsei Univ.) - Development of a deep neural network for generating synthetic dual-energy chest X-ray images with single X-ray exposure

  • Best Poster in KAMPiNA: Sang-June Park (UCLA) - High dose rate interstitial spine brachytherapy using an intraoperative mobile CT guided surgical navigation system


MC2 Award 2020

  • Best Paper in KAMPiNA: Sang Ho Lee (Johns Hopkins University) - Multi-view radiomics and dosiomics analysis with machine learning for predicting acute-phase weight loss in lung cancer patients treated with radiotherapy

  • Best Paper in KSMP: Hyekyun Chung (Asan Medical) - Reconstruction of implanted marker trajectories from cone-beam CT projection using interdimensional correlation model

  • Best Poster in KAMPiNA: Hosang Jin (Univ. of Oklahoma) - Enhanced tumor cell control by boron in proton beam therapy


MC2 Award 2021

  • Best Paper in KSMP: Jin Ju Kim (KIRAMS & UST) – PET tracing of biodistribution for orally administered 64Cu-labeled polystyrene in mice

  • Best Paper in KAMPiNA: Sang Ho Lee (University of Pennsylvania) – Multi-block discriminant analysis of integrative 18F-FDG-PET/CT radiomics for predicting circulating tumor cells in early-stage non-small cell lung cancer treated with stereotactic body radiation therapy

  • Best Poster in KAMPiNA: Jihyun Yun (University of Alberta) – Optimizing the accuracy and training speed of an artificial neural network for 3D tumor trajectory prediction in Linac-MR image-guided radiation therapy

  • Best Poster in KAMPiNA: James J. Sohn (VCU) – A workflow for a patient-specific 3D-printed template with direction modulated brachytherapy (DMBT) tandem applicator for adaptive HDR interstitial brachytherapy


MC2 Award 2022

  • Best Paper in KAMPiNA: Claire Keun Sun Park (Western University) – Spatially tracked whole-breast three-dimensional ultrasound system toward point-of-care breast cancer screening in high-risk women with dense breasts


MC2 Award 2023

  • Best Paper in KAMPiNA: Danny Lee (Allegheny Health Network) – Super-paramagnetic iron oxide nanoparticles-aided MRI for auto-contouring functional liver parenchyma volume and enhancing tumor-to-liver contrast for MR-guided adaptive SBRT

  • Best Abstract in KAMPiNA: Dae-Myoung Yang (Fox Chase) - Response of tumor and normal tissue to 45MV 5-aminolevulinic acid- (5-ALA)-mediated radiodynamic therapy

MC2 Award 2024

  • TBD

bottom of page